Daily Prompt: Believe

via Daily Prompt: Believe

What Happened To Uganda, The Country We Were All Proud Of?

The early 2000’s to which most of my age-mates and I gain our political knowledge were great times to grow up into.

The economy was stable, the doughnuts and food were cheap and sizable, education was cheap, we attended  public school thanks to a government that loved us, got to pay less than $10 dollars a term for quality education, electricity was cheap and seldom on leave.

We were really the pearl of Africa and there was promise for more glory

There were few cases of nepotism, we trusted our government and didn’t scrutinize government programs even though some sounded dubious, we sat through tiresome census exercises, went willingly for immunization, as far as the people were concerned, the opposition were a bunch of losers.

As kids  we endorsed government programs without actually understanding them-such was the trust we had for our leaders, anyone who critiqued our “Museveni” became an automatic enemy.

Every helicopter that passed in the skies was “Museveni” and we rewarded to the fading airplanes in the airspace’s with the humble yet noble gift of our voices singing “Amba Museveni” a praise and worship song dedicated to our leader that was no where within the acceptable values of entertaining  but we didn’t mind, we sang along out of sheer devotion to our President.

When in mid 2004 word came out that one of those public school we loved so much (Shimoni Demonstration School ) was going to be sold to an investor we rallied behind our president rubbishing the report as false and watched with disinterest as our parents suddenly became increasingly exasperated with the government.

Ours was not a rationale belief in what facts were available but rather a passionate hero worship of a man we had been told brought peace and stability by waging war on dictatorship and even though in the northern part of the country, a deranged general maimed the lips of his own kinsmen while claiming he was fighting to liberate them we held onto hope and believed in our president.

When a young member of parliament from Kampala Central dashed forward amidst criticism and stood by our parents protesting the sell of our beloved Shimoni, I finally came to terms with the fact that the government had sold our school and I had been betrayed as a child.

I grew sympathetic with the Member of parliament and actually liked him, I didn’t think that throughout his entire political existence it would be a fundraising ceremony for sympathy.

More than ten years past, with an ailing economy, a jobless youth that would rather commit crime than work, an abusive police force that that rewards hooliganism and kidnaps children for the crimes of their parents, and a legislature dominated by greedy individuals representing themselves in parliament and the government still celebrates to the victories of the early 2000s, it is then safe to ask what independence are we celebrating?

to be continued

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with
    my facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

    Like

  2. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    This is America you are describing yes? You mentioned parliament so I am not sure. The part about a government that arrests children for the crimes of their parents was heartfelt. I ask myself also what happened to my country? Where is it?
    I met you at Danny’s Meet and Greet. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need any blogging tips. That’s what I write about. I also have blog parties like Danny.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rhacky8 says:

      Hi Janice, its a pleasure to meet you , and am glad to discover your site https://www.mostlyblogging.com/
      am sure its one I’ll have to frequent since I just turned on its notifications and subscribed.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Janice Wald says:

        Exciting Rhacky! Thank you! I’m not sure I got a notification. I can check if you comment on my side. I’m having a blog party this weekend. Why don’t you join us and network?
        Janice

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Rhacky8 says:

        Will most def be there

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Rhacky8 says:

      On the contents of the blog post I was describing Uganda and where a once promising leader turned into a leader we are not proud of

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought you are explaining about US. But i never thought you described about Uganda, anyway its a great content. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rhacky8 says:

      Ohh thanks am humbled.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much appreciated😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment